Screen Shot 2014-01-11 at 8.01.30 PM

Today I finally drafted my resolutions. Somewhere between reading the ArtNews and picking up new books for Kindle. It looks like I will be refining and expanding the list all year long, when the next milestone is achieved or when I know more.  In my mind I was going through various areas and aspects (fitness, career, learning, house renovation…) and somewhere around number 5 or 6 I remembered I had children. I asked myself If I needed to do something about it.

Strangely enough, they all have a lot in common. They are competitive, opinionated and like to be right a lot.  They developed superior communication skills, probably from having to argue early on why they deserved their pocket money or going to bed later. Pavel is studying Political Sciences and heading his university debating team. Anna is getting increasingly popular  on Tumbrl  and developing a knack for social media. She just knows what works and what doesn’t on Tumbrl (which is by the way not everyone’s cup of tea).  Diana is clearly following suit. She is a multi-lingual  fast learning independent thinker  who needs to be the first.

They judge people by merit and hate gender or national stereotypes. They are very selective and so far none of them has been affected by “bad influences” of smoking, drinking, doing drags, skipping school or challenging authorities.  They are very self-reliant and don’t ask for help, able to figure things out on their own, and they don’t need a lot of controls.

The only thing that really bothers me is their haircuts. But I suspect even if I prioritize this very important parenting  gap, I might  experience significant push back from all three. Better to let it go.

This entry was posted in in English and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. i’m curious to look at Anna’s tumblr. (but i understand if you won’t give it)

  2. It all depends on what you put on the negotiations’ table. Especially with regard to my haircut. 😉

Leave a Reply

